Home > Adobe, ASP.NET, Flex, Programming > Online Flex Compiler with ASP.NET Web Service

Online Flex Compiler with ASP.NET Web Service

I just received a couple of very cool books from Adobe a few days ago along with a training DVD, and I’ve been trying to consume as much of it as I could while tying up some loose ends at work before the holidays.

Anyways, two things I like a lot about .NET is reflection and runtime compilation. So I thought I would see how far I could take my (limited) Flex knowledge in that direction, using the new Flex 3 beta 3.

I decided the best way forward would be to create an “online Flex compiler” – that is, a Flex application that allows the user to input some source code and have it compiled and executed directly.

Flex doesn’t allow runtime compilation, so my solution is based on a Flex front-end and an ASP.NET 3.5 Web Service backend, which in turn calls the Flex mxmlc.exe command-line compiler.

I should point out here that Adobe has created another command-line tool called Flex Compiler Shell (fcsh.exe), which boosts compilation time and contains a few features not present in mxmlc.exe. However, I decided that because fcsh.exe is in beta (not production-grade) and mxmlc.exe is a finished product (for Flex 2 at least), I should concentrate on the latter.

My idea was this: Any SWF-file can be compiled using either Flex Builder or mcmlc.exe, and such an SWF-file can also be dynamically loaded, for instance as a module, in a running Flex application.

So why not combine those two things? It might make for an interesting way to allow user-created content to be added to a community RIA in true Web 2.0 style.

Well, I didn’t get that far, but I got the technical solution working )

The Solution

I can’t show you the finished solution, because I’m sure my poor little web server would choke under the stress of people playing with it – because it’s really quite fun. Instead, I’ve captured a screenshot for you to take a look at.

Online Flex Compiler

It works like this:

  • – The screenshot above is of a Flex application called “DynamicCompilerClient.swf” that runs in a browser, and which contains a simple TextArea into which the source code for a simple Flex module is loaded.
  • – The user can change the code freely and then click “Compile and Run”. By clicking the button, the ASP.NET 3.5 Web Service “Service.asmx”, which was previously imported into Flex Builder, is called with the source code as input.
  • – The Web Service saves the received source code in a unique folder on the server that is available from http (eg. mapped as a Virtual directory) and then uses System.Diagnostics.Process to call the mxmlc.exe command-line tool. The standard output from the compiler is picked up by the Process and the resulting SWF-file “DynamicModule.swf” is saved in the folder.
  • – The Web Service returns a URL to the “DynamicModule.swf” to the calling “DynamicCompilerClient.swf”, which picks up that URL and loads the module using ModuleManager.GetModule(url).
  • – Once the module is loaded, the ModuleEvent.READY is fired, and the module is added to the canvas.

Thoughts on Implementation

Here are my current thoughts on the implementation:

  • – It works fine and only took a few hours to implement.
  • – Importing an ASP.NET Web Service into Flex Builder was easy and works great for my simple scenario. I haven’t tested complex data structures yet, but I imagine I will at some point.
  • – The Flex compilation process itself wasn’t as smooth as using .NET’s Microsoft.CSharp.CSharpCodeProvider etc., but on the other hand dynamic module loading in Flex seems to be less bothersome than dynamically loading (and particularly re-loading) assemblies in .NET.
  • – The command-line compiler was pretty slow – it takes approx. 2 seconds each time. However, I imagine a big speed penalty is incurred because mxmlc.exe launches a new Java Virtual Machine on each run and because results are not cached between runs. Fcsh fixes this to a great extent, I’m sure.
  • – I wouldn’t exactly call the solution I’ve implemented production grade. I don’t so much mean code-wise (it’s a mess), but rather the architecture: Calling a Web Service that in turn executes a command-line compiler that stores the result on disk and returns a URL seems to be a chain with a lot of weak links.
  • – There are, luckily, lots of ways to improve the stability of the solution. For instance, instead of doing things synchronously (which is what would cause my server to choke if I opened up to external requests), the Web Service could asynchronously queue the request in a database, and a Windows Service could then poll the queue, run the compiler and store the result also in the database, letting the Web Service (again asynchronously) return the result to the caller whenever it’s good and ready. In other words, it’s not so much a Flex/ASP.NET interoperability issue, it’s an implementation issue on my part.

Conclusion – and what about Silverlight?

The conclusion has to be: It works fine and I’m fairly happy with the results. It’s not runtime compilation in Flex, but it’s pretty close.

However, now I am really looking forward to Silverlight 2.0 beta, because it seems that this scenario is simpler to handle in a pure .NET environment. Runtime compilation will probably not be possible from within a Silverlight application either (CSharpCodeProvider calls .NET’s C# compiler csc.exe from the command-line behind the scenes), but at least the server-side logic would be less of a hack.

Categories: Adobe, ASP.NET, Flex, Programming
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

